Year published :November 2017

Pages :264 pp., Linen binding with blind embossing and affixed photograph

Size :24 x 29 cm.

Color photograph :274 photographs

ISBN: 9783895814587

Moving Music: The Berliner Philharmoniker & Sir Simon Rattle

by Alexander Verlag Berlin

A photo book by Monika Rittershaus
With a preface by Eleonore Büning

For more than ten years, the photographer Monika Rittershaus and her camera have accompanied the Berliner Philharmoniker and their chief conductor, Sir Simon Rattle – at rehearsals and concerts, in the auditorium, on the concert stage and behind the scenes, at the orchestra’s home base in Berlin and on tour around the world, following both their great musical and their very quiet, intimate moments. She has captured the concentration before a performance, the beaming faces after a successful concert, the musicians’ absorption in their instruments and their connection when making music together. Monika Rittershaus documents the fascinating cosmos of a world-renowned orchestra with a sure eye for unusual perspectives and situations. At the same time, her photographs are an impressive retrospective of the Rattle era.

The photo book moving music also contains an introduction in German and English by Eleonore Büning, music editor of the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, who has accompanied the Berliner Philharmoniker in her capacity as a journalist since her student days, plus interviews and statements by individual orchestral musicians who convey to the viewer and the reader what challenges the profession presents and the emotions a musician of the Philharmoniker experiences during a normal work day.

The book includes a complete English translation.

Related products